In-person early voting starts Oct. 20. Here’s what to know in NC’s Border Belt counties

By Sarah Nagem

Election Day is Nov. 8, but in-person early voting in North Carolina begins Oct. 20 and ends Nov. 5.

Residents can cast their ballots at any early-voting site in the county where they are registered to vote.

Those who are not yet registered can do so and then vote on the same day at early-voting sites. To be eligible to register, residents must be U.S. citizens who reside in the county where they are registering. They must be 18 by Election Day.

Voters can also cast absentee ballots at early-voting sites.

To learn more about all the candidates in North Carolina’s Border Belt counties, check out these voter guides:

Below is a list of local early-voting sites. To find out when each site is open, go to

Bladen County

Bladen County Board of Elections: 301 S. Cypress St., Elizabethtown

Bladenboro: 508 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., Bladenboro 

Dublin Town Hall: 7386 Albert St., Dublin

East Arcadia: 1472 E. Arcadia Road, Riegelwood

Tar Heel Municipal Building: 14867 N.C. 87 West, Tar Heel

Columbus County

Chadbourn Municipal Annex: 208 E. First Ave., Chadbourn 

Columbus County Board of Elections: 2586 N. James B White Highway #B, Whiteville

Fair Bluff Fire Department: 152 Main St., Fair Bluff

Ransom Event Center: 2696 General Howe Highway, Riegelwood 

Tabor City Court House: 110 W. Fourth St., Tabor City

Robeson County

Fairmont Fire Hall/Senior Citizen Center: 421 S. Main St., Fairmont

Gilbert Patterson Library: 210 N. Florence St., Maxton

Pembroke Library: 413 Blaine St., Pembroke

Red Springs Community Center: 122 Cross St., Red Springs

Robeson County Board of Elections: 801 N. Pine St., Lumberton 

St. Pauls National Guard Armory: 705 N. Old Stage Road, St. Pauls

Scotland County

Scotland County Annex Building Conference Room: 231 E. Cronly St., Laurinburg