Here’s who is on the ballot in Scotland County for Nov. 8 election

By Sarah Nagem

Voters across North Carolina, including in Scotland County, will cast ballots in the Nov. 8 midterm election that could have major impacts at the state and federal levels. 

Here are some key points: 

  • The race between Republican Ted Budd and Democrat Cheri Beasley in North Carolina could help decide which party controls the U.S. Senate. The chamber is now split evenly, but Democrats control the agenda.
  • Democrats currently control the U.S. House, but experts predict Republicans will win enough seats this fall to take over. As a result of redistricting, Charlotte Republican Dan Bishop will no longer represent Scotland County in Washington. Rep. Richard Hudson, a Concord Republican, is running for the District 9 seat. Ben Clark, a Democrat and state senator who now represents Cumberland and Hoke counties, is running against Hudson. 
  • The N.C. Supreme Court has a Democratic majority, but that would change if Republicans win at least one of the two seats up for grabs. As the state’s highest court, justices could soon consider issues such as abortion and marijuana legalization. 
  • Through redistricting, Scotland County voters have new choices to represent them in the N.C. Senate. Danny Britt, a Robeson County Republican who currently serves in the senate, is running against Scotland County Democrat Darrel (BJ) Gibson, Jr.

Here’s everyone who is running: 

U.S. Senate

Cheri Beasley (Democrat) 

Shannon W. Bray (Libertarian) 

Ted Budd (Republican)

Matthew Hoh (Green) 

U.S. House (District 9) 

Ben Clark (Democrat)

Richard Hudson (Republican)

N.C. Supreme Court (Seat 3) 

Richard Dietz (Republican)

Lucy Inman (Democrat)

N.C. Supreme Court (Seat 5) 

Sam J. Ervin IV (Democrat)

Trey Allen (Republican)

N.C. Court of Appeals (Seat 8) 

Julee Tate Flood (Republican)

Carolyn Jennings Thompson (Democrat)

N.C. Court of Appeals (Seat 9) 

Brad A. Salmon (Democrat)

Donna Stroud (Republican)

N.C. Court of Appeals (Seat 10) 

John M. Tyson (Republican)

Gale Murray Adams (Democrat)

N.C. Court of Appeals (Seat 11) 

Darren Jackson (Democrat)

Michael J. Stading (Republican) 

N.C. Senate (District 24) 

Darrel (BJ) Gibson, Jr. (Democrat)

Danny Earl Britt, Jr. (Republican) 

N.C. House (District 48) 

Garland E. Pierce (Democrat)

Melissa Swarbrick (Republican)

N.C. District Court District 16A (Seat 1)

Chris Rhue (Democrat)

N.C. District Court District 16A (Seat 3)

Chevonne Wallace (Democrat) 

District Attorney 

Reece Saunders (Democrat) 

Board of Commissioners (Spring Hill) 

Milton W. Farmer (Democrat)

Bo Frizzell (Republican)

Board of Commissioners (Stewartsville, vote for 2) 

Tim Ivey (Republican)

Darwin (Duke) Williams (Democrat)

Tracey Dockery Williams (Democrat) 

Clerk of Superior Court 

??W. Philip McRae (Democrat) 


Ralph Kersey (Republican)

Sheronica Smith (Democrat) 

Board of Education (At-large, vote for two) 

Phillip L. Gregory

Vicki C. Jackson

Summer Woodside

Board of Education (Stewartsville, vote for 2)

Jason Clark

Herman L. Tyson

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor (vote for two) 

Edward T. Carmichael

Ryan Gibson

Bracey Stone