Columbus County’s municipal elections are Nov. 7. Here are the candidates

From staff reports

Voters across Columbus County will go to the polls Nov. 7 to choose mayors and local board members.

Municipal governing boards, which are typically led by mayors, are responsible for using taxpayers’ money to fund services such as law enforcement and trash collection. They also have the final say over proposed development projects, including new homes and businesses, within town limits. 

Here are the candidates.

Bolton Mayor 

Shawn Maynor (incumbent)

Bolton Board of Aldermen

Randolph Pringle

Jimmy Bowen

Cynthia Mitchell

Eugene T. Neal, Jr.

Ruth Waddell

Chadbourn Mayor

Ruth Ann Haynes

Phillip C. Britt (incumbent)

Myles Cartrette

Chadbourn Town Council

Danny W. Clewis, Sr.

 Tony Carson Jordan

James Green (incumbent)

Colene (Tootie) Kelly Faulk (incumbent)

Antonio Ashley (incumbent)

Fair Bluff Board of Commissioners

Kathy Horne Ashley (incumbent)

Ralph Daniel McCoy (incumbent)

Robert Taylor

Fair Bluff Board of Commissioners (unexpired)

Spruell R. Britt

Lake Waccamaw Board of Commissioners, East Ward

Joseph Karl Bracey (incumbent)

Lake Waccamaw Board of Commissioners, West Ward

Terry Littrell (incumbent)

Sandyfield Mayor

Garry A. Keaton (incumbent)

Sandyfield Town Council 

Randolph Keaton (incumbent)

Joe Brown (incumbent)

Azalie P. Graham (incumbent)

Tabor City Mayor

Royce Harper (incumbent)

Tabor City Town Council 

Emory Cox

David E. Mincey (incumbent)

Nelson Lee (incumbent)

Kelly Beck

Whiteville Mayor

Terry Mann

Whiteville City Council, District 1

Josh Harris

Emory Worley (incumbent)

Kevin G. Williamson (incumbent)

William “Alex” Meeks

Shaq Davis

City of Whiteville City Council, District 2 

Jimmy Clarida (incumbent)

Brunswick Board of Commissioners

Everlene Davis

Shirley Moore

Jackie Williams-Rowland

Jason W. Elleby

Brunswick Board of Commissioners (unexpired)

Curtis Lamont Hill

Ricky Mason

Cerro Gordo Mayor

David White (incumbent)

Cerro Gordo Town Council

David Prince (incumbent)

Brenda Mckenzie (incumbent)

Pamela Specht