Here are some primary races to watch in Bladen County for May 17 election

By Sarah Nagem

When Bladen County voters go to the polls for the primary election on May 17, they will choose who they want to run next fall for everything from the U.S. Senate to the local school board. 

New maps drawn by North Carolina’s Republican lawmakers for legislative and congressional districts led to complaints and lawsuits, but boundaries are now set for the primary. 

In Bladen County, there are a few races to watch:

  • Republican Sheriff Jim McVicker faces a challenge in the primary, and two Democrats are also vying for a seat in the general election ballot in November.
  • Incumbents on the county commission board and the school board also face primary challengers. 
  • In the N.C. House of Representatives, Republican William Brisson faces no primary challenge to represent Bladen and Sampson counties. No Democrats filed for the seat, which means Brisson will serve another term in office. 
  • Statewide, a very crowded field of candidates is running for the U.S. Senate, including former N.C. Gov. Pat McCrory and U.S. House member Ted Budd, both Republicans, and Democrat Cheri Beasley, former chief justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court. Incumbent Sen. Richard Burr, a Republican, is not seeking re-election.

Bladen County has about 22,000 registered voters, according to the N.C. State Board of Elections

In primary elections, voters must fill out a ballot associated with their registered political party. Unaffiliated voters can choose which ballot to fill out. The county has about 9,700 registered Democrats and about 5,100 Republicans, data shows. About 7,000 voters in the county are not affiliated with a political party.  

Here’s a list of everyone who is running in the primary in Bladen: 

Bladen County Sheriff


Guy W. Childress, Bladenboro

Hakeem Brown, Council


Gary S. Edwards, Bladenboro

Jim McVicker, Tar Heel (incumbent)

Bladen County Board of Commissioners (District 02)


Charles Ray Peterson, Bladenboro (incumbent)

Dawson Singletary, Bladen

(No Democratic primary)

Bladen County Board of Education (county-wide)


Harfel Davis, Elizabethtown

Vince Rozier, Tar Heel Democrat

Cory Singletary, Clarkton (incumbent)

Sophia Brixey, Bladenboro

(No Republican primary)

Bladen County Board of Education (District 02)


Ben Lee, Bladenboro

Berry Lewis, Bladenboro

Mackie Singletary, Bladenboro

(No Democratic primary)

Bladen County Clerk of Superior Court


Cristin Hursey, Dublin

Jason Britt, Bladenboro

(No Democratic primary)

U.S. House (District 7)


Charles E. Evans, Fayetteville

Charles Graham, Lumberton

Yushonda Midgette, Winnabow

Steve Miller, Wilmington


David Rouzer, Wilmington (incumbent)

Max Southworth-Beckwith, Currie

U.S. Senate


James L. Carr, Jr., Harrisburg

Robert Colon, Wallace

Alyssia Rose-Katherine Hammond, Raleigh

Constance (Lov) Johnson, Charlotte

Tobias LaGrone, Greensboro

B. K. Maginnis, Charlotte

Rett Newton, Beaufort

Marcus W. Williams, Lumberton

Greg Antoine, Fayetteville

Cheri Beasley, Raleigh

Chrelle Booker, Tryon


Marjorie K. Eastman, Cary

David Flaherty, Cameron

Benjamin E. Griffiths,

Kenneth Harper, Jr., Archdale

Pat McCrory, Charlotte

Charles Kenneth Moss, Randleman

Lichia Sibhatu, Raleigh

Debora Tshiovo, Moravian Falls

Mark Walker, Summerfield

Jen Banwart, Fuquay-Varina

Ms. Lee A. Brian, Clayton

Leonard L. Bryant, Fayetteville

Ted Budd, Advance

Drew Bulecza, Lincolnton

N.C. Supreme Court Associate Justice (Seat 05)


Victoria E. Prince, Greensboro

April C. Wood, Lexington

Trey Allen, Hillsborough

(No Democratic primary)

N.C. Court of Appeals (Seat 09)


Beth Freshwater Smith, Wilson

Donna Stroud, Garner

(No Democratic primary)

N.C. Court of Appeals (Seat 11)


Michael J. Stading, Charlotte

Charlton L. Allen, Mooresville

(No Democratic primary)

N.C. District Court Judge (District 13 Seat 02)


Preston B. Hilton, Leland

Bryan Wilson, Winnabow

(No Democratic primary)