• Rural Black voters, including those in Scotland County, are key for Democrats in NC
    By Ben Rappaport and Kerria Weaver In a navy blue pinstripe suit and black and gold paisley tie, 93-year-old William Matthews Jr. drove through downtown Laurinburg in a Wagoneer bearing his name, waving and tossing candy out the window as he passed the crowds. Matthews, a retired command sergeant major in the National Guard, was the grand marshal for Scotland County’s Second Annual … Read moreRead more
  • Who is the mayor of Pembroke? It’s complicated 
    Two months after Pembroke’s mayoral election, Greg Cummings refuses to give up his seat despite losing by 19 votes to challenger Allen Dial.Read more
  • Border Belt People: Greg Martin retires after 25 years as Bladen manager
    By Kerria Weaver Bladen County Manager Greg Martin, who has been working in local government for almost 30 years, is retiring. He first worked in local government starting in early 1996.  The Border Belt Independent spoke with Martin about his time in the position and his decision to retire. Q. What was your upbringing and journey to being county manager of Bladen County? Are … Read moreRead more
  • Here’s who is running for Congress and the NC legislature in the Border Belt in 2024
    By Ben Rappaport  Several candidates have filed for state and federal races in Bladen, Columbus, Robeson and Scotland counties for the 2024 election.    Republicans have maintained firm control of North Carolina’s Border Belt region in recent elections and will look to keep up the momentum.  Many incumbents in the region want to keep their seats, including Republican Congressman David Rouzer, Republican state Sen. Danny … Read moreRead more
  • Race, equality and alliances: The story behind Lumberton’s contentious election
    By Ben Rappaport A slate of political hopefuls wanted to shake up the Lumberton City Council in last month’s contentious election that highlighted issues of race and equality in the Robeson County town.  Voters, however, opted to stick with the status quo. They re-elected Mayor Bruce Davis and three incumbent council members. In another district, voters rejected the only candidate on the ballot — Erich … Read moreRead more